Ernst Gaßner Award 2020 – Award winners and ceremony


Ernst Gassner

To keep the memory of our co-founder and his work alive, the Fraunhofer Institute for Structural Durability and System Reliability LBF is presenting the Ernst Gassner Award 2020.

The winners

  • are experts in structural durability
  • are employed in industry and hold responsibility for product approval processes
  • have outstanding scientific / technical achievements in the field of lightweight design and material fatigue under variable amplitude loading

The international Jury

An international jury will make the final decision regarding the recipient of the award, who will be announced in press releases of Fraunhofer LBF and scientific journals.

Award winner 2020

Dr. Yung-Li Lee

Fraunhofer LBF presents Dr. Yung-Li as award-winner. He is honored for his outstanding work in structural durability at Fiat Chrysler Automobiles N.V. (FCA). He is responsible for facilitating the development and implementation of state-of-the-art durability technologies for product analysis, testing and designs.

Bruno Seufert

Fraunhofer LBF presents Bruno Seufert as award-winner. He has been working
in the field of body and chassis durability at Daimler AG since 1986. He contributed to a large number of extraordinarily demanding and successful developments, including active chassis systems and aluminium suspension components.